How Many Sockets Per Room in the UK? Trade & HMO Guide 2026

The most common mistake on a refurb isn't the finish colour or the back box depth. It's leaving a room with fewer sockets than it actually needs — and having to go back.

Quick Answer

There is no single legal minimum socket count in BS 7671, but BS 7671 Appendix 15 and the NHBC Standards recommend specific room-by-room minimums: 8 outlets for kitchens, 8 for living rooms, 6 for main bedrooms, 4 for secondary bedrooms. HMO regulations set separate mandatory minimums for rented properties that carry legal weight — minimum 2 double sockets per bedroom, 4 per shared kitchen.

Browse Trade Sockets at Kent Traders →

Is There Actually a Legal Minimum Number of Sockets in the UK?

Strictly speaking, BS 7671 — the IET Wiring Regulations — does not mandate a specific number of socket outlets for domestic rooms. What it does say, at Appendix 15, is that outlets should be "adequate" for the likely use of the space, positioned so that equipment can be fed from an "adjacent and conveniently accessible socket outlet." That is deliberate vagueness. The guidance tables that do give room-by-room numbers come from the NHBC (National House Building Council) Standards, which most new build contractors follow, and from the Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) used to assess rental properties.

For HMO landlords, the picture is different. Local authority HMO licensing conditions impose mandatory electrical minimums that have real legal bite — fail a HHSRS inspection for inadequate sockets and you can be issued a Category 1 hazard notice. That is the level where a council can force remediation works at your cost. A 20-room HMO in Birmingham with four sockets per bedroom instead of the required minimum is not just inconvenient for tenants — it is a licensing risk.

HMO Landlord Note: The Electrical Safety Standards in the Private Rented Sector (England) Regulations 2020 require an EICR every five years for all private rented properties. An inspector flagging inadequate socket provision will raise this as a C3 or C2 defect depending on severity. Get the numbers right during the refurb, not during the inspection.

Room-by-Room Socket Minimums: What the Standards Actually Say

Room NHBC Recommended Minimum HMO Minimum (typical LA requirement) Practical Trade Recommendation
Kitchen 8 outlets (4 above worktop minimum) 4 double sockets above worktop + dedicated circuits for oven and fridge 10–12 outlets. Worktop positions every 600–800mm. Never enough in a kitchen.
Living / family room 8 outlets (2 near TV aerial) Not separately specified — covered by general adequacy test 8–10. Think media wall, lamps in corners, EV charger controller, gaming.
Main bedroom 6 outlets 2 double sockets minimum (4 outlets) 6–8. Bedside on both sides, desk position, wardrobe zone. Add USB here.
Other bedrooms 4 outlets 2 double sockets minimum (4 outlets) 6. Same logic as main bedroom — tenants bring more devices every year.
Dining room 4 outlets Not separately specified 4–6. Consider home working increasingly happening at dining tables.
Hall / landing 2 outlets 1 single socket minimum (shared areas for cleaning) 2 minimum. Often omitted on refurbs and regretted at hoovering time.
Home office / study Not in original NHBC table Not specified 8 minimum. A desk with a monitor, laptop dock, printer and desk lamp will use 5–6 at once.

One thing the table above doesn't capture: the difference between "outlets" (individual socket holes) and "double sockets." An NHBC "8 outlets" in a kitchen means 4 double sockets, since each double socket counts as 2 outlets. When quoting or speccing, always clarify whether your client is counting individual holes or faceplate positions. It causes a surprising number of arguments on handover day.


Why the Recommended Minimums Are Almost Always Wrong for 2026

The NHBC guidance tables were written for a world with a kettle, a toaster and a microwave on the worktop. The average UK household now has 10.3 internet-connected devices, and kitchen tech alone has expanded to include air fryers, bean-to-cup coffee machines, sous vide wands, induction hobs requiring dedicated 32A circuits, and smart home hubs. The "8 outlet" kitchen guidance is from a different era.

For trade buyers speccing rental properties or hotel rooms, the practical guide is this: whatever the minimum says, add 30%. A 20-bedroom HMO in Manchester where each room has the minimum 4 outlets will have complaints from day one. Tenants in 2026 routinely run a monitor, a laptop charger, a phone charger, a fan or heater, and bedside lighting simultaneously. That is 5 outlets from a 4-outlet room before anything unusual happens. Spec 6 doubles per bedroom on a refurb and you will not hear about it again.

Ordering sockets for a full refurb or HMO? Kent Traders applies automatic quantity discounts at 2+, 5+, 10+ and 20+ units. No code, no minimum order value.

See BG Evolve Range with Bulk Pricing →

What Finish and Type to Spec by Room

Once you know the numbers, the next question is what goes in each position. A few honest opinions from the trade:

  • Bedrooms in HMOs and rentals: BG General white is fine and holds up. If the property sits in the mid-market bracket — a 4-5 bed HMO in Leeds or a BTL flat in Bristol — BG Evolve Pearl White gives you a screwless plate that looks a grade above for a modest premium. Makes a difference on photos at listing time.
  • Bedrooms in hotel rooms or serviced apartments: USB-A/C combination sockets at the bedside are no longer optional — guests expect them. A BG Evolve USB socket at each bedside position saves the extension leads that tenants and guests plug in anyway.
  • Kitchens: Stick with white in rental kitchens unless the property genuinely justifies decorative finishes. Kitchens take hard use. A brushed brass socket above a worktop in a student HMO in Sheffield will look tired within 18 months.
  • Living rooms in high-spec properties: This is where brushed brass or matt black earns its place. A decorative finish in a shared living room signals quality, holds up to guests showing the property, and helps justify rent premium.

Frequently Asked Questions

There is no single statutory minimum in BS 7671 for domestic properties. The NHBC Standards provide recommended minimums used widely in new builds. For HMO and rented properties, local authority licensing conditions set mandatory minimums — typically a minimum of 2 double sockets (4 outlets) per bedroom and 4 doubles in shared kitchens. These carry legal force under HMO licensing.
The typical local authority HMO licensing requirement is a minimum of 2 double sockets (4 outlets) per bedroom. Some councils require more — the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham specifies a minimum of 2 double sockets, for example. Always check your specific local authority's HMO standards document, as these vary. The practical recommendation for any refurb targeting mid-market rental is 6 outlets (3 doubles) per bedroom as a minimum.
The NHBC recommends a minimum of 8 outlets for a kitchen, with at least 4 above the worktop. Sockets above worktops should be positioned 100–150mm above the surface and never directly over a hob or sink. Dedicated circuits are required separately for fixed appliances — the oven, dishwasher, fridge, and washing machine each need their own feed and these do not count toward the general-use socket count.
BS 7671 does not specify a mandatory height for standard sockets. In practice, 450mm from floor to centre of the socket is the common domestic standard. Approved Document M (accessibility in buildings) recommends between 450mm and 1200mm from floor for accessible properties and conversions. Above worktops, 100–150mm from the worktop surface is the standard. Sockets in bathrooms must comply with BS 7671 Section 701 and are generally not permitted within zone 2 (within 600mm of a bath or shower).
There is no legal requirement for USB sockets in rental or HMO properties, but they are increasingly standard in mid-market lettings because tenants expect them. A USB-A/C combination socket at a bedside position — such as the BG Evolve PCDMB24UAC — eliminates the extension leads and multi-plug adapters tenants otherwise use, which reduces the risk of overloading circuits and looks considerably better on marketing photographs.
There is no UK statutory minimum for hotel bedroom sockets, but industry standards for 3-star-and-above properties typically include: 2 double sockets with USB at bedside positions (one per side), 1–2 doubles at the desk area, 1 double near the wardrobe, and a switched fused spur for the TV or wake-up radio if hardwired. A mid-tier hotel room typically needs 8–10 outlets total. Key card switches — cutting power on exit — sit alongside this circuit layout and are a separate requirement.

Spec Right First Time — Trade Sockets at Kent Traders

Full BG Evolve and BG General range in stock. Bulk discounts auto-apply from 2 units. Fast UK delivery.

Browse Sockets at Trade Prices →
Previous articleBG Evolve Brushed Brass Sockets & Switches | Trade Prices | Kent Traders All articles Next articleCorby Trouser Press Guide for Boutique Hotels | Kent Traders

RELATED ARTICLES

Standard letterbox
Why a Standard Letterbox Voids Your Fire Door Rating | KT

A standard letterbox cut into an FD30 fire door is one of the most commonly missed compliance failures on a fire door inspection, and...

Closed vs concealed cistern
Concealed vs Close-Coupled Cisterns: Which for HMO? | KT

Landlords specifying cisterns for an HMO refurb usually pick on looks alone, and that's exactly where it goes wrong. A concealed cistern behind a...

Downlight insulation
Loft Insulation Over Downlights: What Actually Stops Fires

A landlord had fire-rated downlights fitted throughout an HMO loft conversion, then two years later a contractor topping up the loft insulation buried every...

Hotel welcome trays
Hotel Welcome Trays: What Actually Needs PAT Testing | KT

A guest complained her room kettle kept tripping the socket, and maintenance found the element had been failing for weeks. Nobody had tested it...

illuminated mirror and shaver stock
Illuminated Mirrors & Shaver Sockets: What's Legal | KT

A landlord asked an electrician to wire a normal double socket behind an HMO bathroom's new illuminated mirror, and was refused on the spot....

Garden room electrics
Garden Room Electrics: What Cable Actually Goes In | KT

A homeowner ran a heavy-duty extension lead across the lawn to a new garden office, and it tripped the whole house's RCD every time...

Masterplug night light sockets
Night Light Sockets: Do You Need One or a Lamp? | KT

A homeowner upgraded from a 7kW to a 10.5kW shower and kept the existing 6mm cable, assuming a cable is a cable. Within weeks...

USB DESKTOP POWER OUTLET
Reception Desk Power & USB Charging: What to Spec | KT

A guesthouse fitted USB sockets throughout every guest room but left reception on its original two sockets, both already taken by the card machine...

Hotel coffee pod machines
Hotel Kettle or Pod Machine? What Guest Rooms Need | KT

A guesthouse swapped every room kettle for a pod machine and found the sachet-restocking bill roughly doubled while some guests complained they couldn't make...

stairwell and corridor lighting
Corridor & Stairwell Sensor Lighting Guide | Kent Traders

A guesthouse stairwell had a switch only at the bottom, and a guest missed the last two steps coming down in the dark. PIR-controlled...

School Classroom Uk
School & Classroom Electrical Spec Guide | Kent Traders

A primary school fitted standard white moulded sockets along classroom skirting and was replacing cracked faceplates within a term. Schools take more physical abuse...

Extractor fan rates
Extractor Fan Ratings: Litres/Sec by Room | Kent Traders

A landlord replaced a failed bathroom extractor fan with whatever unit looked closest to the old one, and the property still failed its damp...

GU10, B22 or E27? UK Lamp Fittings Explained | KT
GU10, B22 or E27? UK Lamp Fittings Explained | KT

A guest ordered ten replacement bulbs for a downlight and every one arrived with the wrong base, because the old bulb wasn't a GU10,...

LD1, LD2 or LD3 Fire Alarms for HMOs? | Kent Traders
LD1, LD2 or LD3 Fire Alarms for HMOs? | Kent Traders

A landlord fitted LD3 smoke alarms and still failed his council's HMO licence inspection, because a shared house needs LD1 or LD2 coverage under...

Taps for Low Water Pressure: What to Buy | Kent Traders
Taps for Low Water Pressure: What to Buy | Kent Traders

A brand new tap that only dribbles is almost never faulty. It is a pressure mismatch. Every tap has a minimum operating pressure in...

Selective Licensing
Selective Licensing Is Expanding Fast: Are You Covered? | KT

A landlord with an ordinary single-family let, no HMO, no lodgers, found his street had quietly fallen inside an expanded selective licensing zone. A...

Shop the products in this guide

View all